In the Spotlight: Greer Clement

 

by Native Foods Cafe

 

Greer Clement is a
jewelry designer from Michigan who loves to cook, garden, listen to music… oh, and she works at Native Foods Lakeview in her spare time!  Greer is one cool gal, so make sure to
say hi next time you are in Lakeview…. and check out her jewelry shop on Etsy!


PhotoNative Foods Cafe, vegan, vegan food, vegan restaurant, etsy jewelry

Where
are you from? 

Originally Ohio, but I
lived most of my life in Michigan so I claim that as my home state.

What is
your sign?

 I am a libra. Oct.
8th.

What
inspired you to become vegan/vegetarian?

Growing up I didn't
really like meat.  Once I had the choice not to eat it I didn't. I had
been vegetarian for roughly 10 years before going vegan. My boyfriend had read
The China Study and asked me if I wanted to go Vegan with him. It is the best
decision I have ever made.

When
and why did you start making jewelry?

I started making jewelry
7 years ago when I moved to chicago.  I wanted to wear jewelry, but wanted
it to be different from anyone else.  It just made sense that I would make
it myself.  I sell my handmade art currently on Etsy.  You can find
my work at www.archboldmoss.etsy.com 


OnyxbroachNative Foods Cafe, vegan, vegan food, vegan restaurant, etsy jewelry

Do you
have a favorite jewelry designer, someone or something that inspires you?

I don't have a favorite
jewelry designer.  I draw inspiration from nature and contrasting colors.
I love asymmetrical necklaces. I like my work to be bold.  

Who or
what do you think has had the most impact on the growing vegetarian/vegan
movement?

I think the health
issues. especially affecting Americans today, is opening people's eyes to a
plant-based diet. Forks Over Knives is a great documentary that explains the
health issues related to a meat and dairy diet, but shows how to correct health
problems by switching to a plant based diet. 

If you
could come back as an animal?

Well I love to swim so I
would choose a whale shark.  Just big enough so nothing would bother me.
 Also they are such majestic swimmers:)


Whale-shark_754_600x450Native Foods Cafe vegan restaurant uses this photo courtesy of National Geographic: Photograph by Brian J. Skerry

Do you
have any pets, if so what are their names?

No pets.  But I
walked dogs for four years before working at Native Foods.  I definitely
had some favorites.  I created a bond with a bulldog named Turtle, I
walked him since he was a puppy.  I also love my sister's dog a pug named
Oscar and of course two lab mixes Pepper and Koda who I have dog sat for four
years.  I guess they are all my favorites. They have so much
personality without ever saying a word.  And the expressions!!  This is Oscar:


OscarNative Foods Cafe, vegan, vegan food, vegan restaurant, etsy jewelry

What do
you want to be when you "grow up"? 

Well I think it would be
pretty wonderful to support myself from my art, but I will also be happy working
and creating art & living a simple life. 

If you
could live anywhere, where would it be and why?

I would love to live in a
house someday with a yard. I love gardening and I think it would be so fun to
plant a huge garden.  I have learned in life that locations do not always
make you happy it is who you are with that matters.  If I had to choose I
would say Northern Michigan or the Upper Peninsula of Michigan.  Both
would be great!!

What is
your favorite menu item and dessert at Native Foods?

I like the Caribbean Jerk
Kale Salad.  I love the creamy cilantro & jalapeno dressing and the
avocado, mango and kale of course.  I eat gluten free so I would have to
choose the Peanut Butter Parfait for dessert.


Caribbean Jerk Kale SaladNative Foods Cafe, vegan, vegan food, vegan restaurant, etsy jewelry

Do you
have a signature dish you prepare at home?

I fry brussel sprouts in
earth balance butter w/ a bit of liquid amino Bragg's.  Served on top a
bed of mixed greens with vegetables and fruit with a hummus balsamic
vinaigrette. And some nutritional yeast on top ( if we have it:) 

Do you
have a favorite band or musician?

 Right now I have
been listening to a lot of Iron Horse.  They are a bluegrass cover band.
 Picking on Modest Mouse is great and also A Whole Lotta Bluegrass a
tribute to Led Zeppelin is what I am listening to now.  Neil Young is my
all time favorite. 


416px-Para_Rael99_(que_nos_quiten_lo_bailao)Native Foods Cafe vegan restaurant uses this photo courtesy of Wikipedia.

What
was your first concert ever?

My sister surprised me
with Horde Tour tickets when I was 14. The headlining band was Blues Traveler
and I remember being excited to see the Spin Doctors.  While I was saving
the lawns seats I heard the very first act.  A guy came out on stage and
slammed his metal folding chair down, it echoed loudly.  He softly said
into the microphone "Hi I'm Ben Harper."  I didn't know him
before that but instantly loved his music. 

Do you
like to dance?

If you see me dance it is
rare.  Once in a blue moon I dance.  I really enjoy music
though. 

Do
aliens exist? 

I'm not sure.  It's
a real thinking question, one to really ponder.  I haven't actually
devoted the time to definitively saying yes or no they exist, it seems possible
though. Maybe.  

What do
you do in your free time?

I have lots of house
plants that I love taking care of. I recently planted some herbs and lettuces
and kale on my deck that I love to check the growth of. I cook at least once or
twice a day.  I enjoy doing art in all forms and spending time with my
boyfriend and good friends. 

 

Photo copy Native Foods Cafe, vegan, vegan food, vegan restaurant, etsy jewelry

Leave a Reply

