BeadforLife Shea Soap & Shea Butter

by Mandi Meek

Native Foods Cafe

 

Lather up with some Goodwill with BeadforLife Shea Soap & Shea Butter! 

Beader-Group-CelebratingNative Foods Cafe vegan restaurant uses this photo courtesy of BeadforLife.

When I first moved to Boulder, my mama told me about an
organization called BeadforLife that was headquartered here. BeadforLife is a
super cool organization that helps raise women out of poverty in Uganda. Poverty,
HIV, or Joseph Kony’s Lord Resistance Army has devastated all of the women,
whom BFL works with. BFL’s main focus is offering a hand up not a handout by
providing employment opportunities within their beading curriculum and shea nut
program. They were founded in 2004 with the hopes of helping dozens of women,
but to this day they have helped thousands.

 
2013-02-22 at 14-52-13Native Foods Cafe vegan restaurant uses this photo courtesy of BeadforLife.


The paper-beaded jewelry is unreal. Beautifully crafted with
bright colors and cool shapes, they are ecofriendly and made from recycled
material. I’ve collected a few pieces over the years and developed quite the
addiction. Last Christmas everyone in my family – boys and girls – received
some goodwill for their wrists. Best gifts I’ve ever given because not only was
I able to bless my family with some rad jewelry, I was able to make a
difference in the life of a woman thousands of miles away.  
A few of the Boulder Native girls are rocking the beads, and
you will probably spot beads on a few our guests as well. Here’s my latest
beads-fix to go with our new work tees. Pretty cool, eh?

 


BFL necklaceNative Foods Cafe, vegan, vegan food, vegan restaurant, BeadforLife

 

While at the studio, I also picked up some of the BFL shea
products. I’ve been a long time shea butter lover. Having worked in the food
industry for years, I’ve learned that nothing heals a burn like Shea Nilotica,
which can be found in shea butter or straight up. After running out of my last
stash, I’ve been on the hunt for some new shea products, but I’ve been having
some trouble with finding pure, few ingredient products with the actual Shea
Nilotica that were reasonably priced. Little did I know that BFL would be the
answer to my prayers.


Category_shea
 Native Foods Cafe vegan restaurant uses this photo courtesy of BeadforLife.

 

Moving from humid Minnesota to dry Colorado has truly been a
transition for my skin. I rely on Shea Nilotica and shea butter to get me
through the extremely dry months. Just the thought of hot and dry summer days
leaves me with lizard skin. I religiously use Shea Nilotica every night on my
face. My former brand had a waxy consistency, but BFL Shea Nilotica has a
smoother more oily texture, which spreads very easily. I use only about the
size of my pinky’s fingernail amount and apply it with circular motions to my
cheeks and quickly swipe over my t-zone at night instead of a night crème.

 

Shea Tub Organic Product 1 copyNative Foods Cafe vegan restaurant uses this photo courtesy of BeadforLife.

One of my new favorite rituals is a BFL spa day: I lathered
up with the soap and top it off with the body crème. The body crème is a little
heavy so I use it primarily on my heels, knees and elbows, and they’re divinely
smooth after one application.


 
Shea Soap Product 1 copyNative Foods Cafe vegan restaurant uses this photo courtesy of BeadforLife.

 

Not only are these premium shea products affordable, but
also by purchasing shea products from BFL, you are helping out women halfway across
the world by providing them a job harvesting shea nuts in a sustainable fashion.
If you wanna pick up your own set of the goods, you can do that at the BFL
studio store in Boulder or at www.BeadforLifeStore.org.

 

 

Native Foods Cafe, vegan, vegan food, vegan restaurant, BeadforLife

One thought on “BeadforLife Shea Soap & Shea Butter

  1. Grace July 22, 2013 / 1:49 pm

    Shea Natural brings to you Shea Shea, african shea butter, butter for skin, shea moisture, shea butter for hair, body butter, shea butter, sheabutter, shea oil, pure shea butter, shea butter wholesale, etc.

    Like

Leave a Reply

