Is Vegan the New Black?

by Sammy Caiola

Native Foods Cafe

 

I never thought “vegan” would become the cool thing. When I
stopped eating meat and started avoiding animal by-products, most of my friends
looked at me like I was nuts. But now, with more celebrities and politicians
professing veganism to the media every week, it’s starting to feel like an elite
inner circle of really glamorous, environmentally conscious people. And now
every time I grab my almond milk from the non-dairy section at Whole Foods, I
feel just a little bit closer to Ellen DeGeneres.

I could never be as cool as Ellen, of course. Or Natalie
Portman, or Lea Michele, or anyone else on my long list of industry icons who
sips on soy lattes between takes. But I can waste lots of office time stalking
them on the Internet and learning their awesome vegan ways. To save you from
getting ensnared by the addictive world of celebrity Twitter feeds, I’ll give
you my personal favorites right here:

Kristen Bell


Celebs1
Native Foods Café vegan restaurant uses this photo
courtesy of Star Max Inc.

 

Just four days ago, this sexy “Veronica Mars” star won PETA’s
annual “Sexiest Vegetarian Celebrities” contest after beating out 100 other veg
celebs. The best part? She’s a full-fledged vegan.

Best Vegan Quote:
“I had a hard time disassociating the animals I cuddled with—dogs and cats, for
example—from the animals on my plate, and I never really cared for the taste of
meat. I always loved my Brussels sprouts!”

Last Vegan Tweet:
“My favorite on set snack. Bars that do
good are twice as delish. Get some. RT http://thisbarsaveslives.com  @thisbar pic.twitter.com/BICQVAJIRU

(on July 2nd, referring to This Bar Saves
Lives
, a non-dairy, non-GMO power bar whose sales help fight global
malnutrition)

Fun fact: Bell
and fiancée Dax Shepard made
a pact
not to get married until their gay friends had equal rights. After the
defeat of DOMA, Bell re-proposed
via Twitter.

 

 

Tobey Maguire


Celebs2
Native Foods Café uses this photo
courtesy of imdb.com

 

Being Spider Man
requires a heck of a lot of protein, but this Hollywood golden boy gets his
through tofu, which Men’s Fitness says he often ate on set. Being the
all-around “good guy” that he is, Maguire went vegetarian in 1992 and vegan in
2009. Perhaps that’s why he looked so dashing in his recent appearance as Nick Carraway in The Great
Gatsby.

Best Vegan Quote: “ I`ve never
had any desire to eat meat. In fact, when I was a kid I would have a really
difficult time eating meat at all. It had to be the perfect bite, with no fat
or gristle or bone or anything like that. I don`t judge people who eat meat –
that`s not for me to say – but the whole thing just sort of bums me out.”

Last
Vegan Tweet
: “RT @LeoDiCaprio
10,000+ #Elephants killed each yr, tusks sold for ivory trinkets. Help
save them. http://worldwildlife.org/ban  #HandsOffMyParts.”

(on February 20, referring to a ban on
Thailand’s ivory trade, which was eventually effected. Thanks Tobey!)

Fun fact: Maguire
always wanted to be a chef, but changed his mind when his mother offered him
$100 to take acting instead of home economics. He still cooks frequently.

 

 

Ellen DeGeneres


Celebs3
Native Foods Café uses this photo
courtesy of ecorazzi.com.

 

This globally adored talk show host and comedy superstar has
designed an entire
website
dedicated to going vegan and taking other folks with her. She talks
about veganism on her show, shares vegan recipes on her Twitter, and works
closely with an organization called The
Gentle Barn
, which rehabilitates abused animals.

Best Vegan quote: “If you want to test cosmetics, why do
it on some poor animal who hasn't done anything? They should use prisoners who
have been convicted of murder or rape instead. So, rather than seeing if
perfume irritates a bunny rabbit's eyes, they should throw it in Charles
Manson's eyes and ask him if it hurts.” 

Last Vegan Tweet: “I'm glad the red panda is safe at
the @NationalZoo,
and that anyone who may have been trying to take him was caught red panda-ed”

(on June
24th, using her signature wit in reference to Rusty the panda, who recently escaped from the National
Zoo)

Fun
fact:
Walt Disney World’s Epcot Park has an eco-themed ride
featuring Ellen DeGeneres and Bill Nye the Science Guy. It’s called Ellen’s
Energy Adventure (I’ve been on it, it’s really neat!)

 

 

Jason
Mraz


Celebs4
Native Foods Café vegan restaurant uses this
photo courtesy of Mother Nature Network.

 

This
chart-topping folk/reggae singer holds true to the earthy, peaceful vibes of
his music by staying true to the earth itself. Jason Mraz, 36, is well-known
for his veganism, occasional raw foodism, and organic farming. Once placed in
the top “40 Farmers Under 40” by Mother Nature Network, Mraz recently
made headlines again for supplying avocados to his local Chipotle. Some sources say he eats 2-4 avocados
a day, so I’m surprised he has any left to sell.

Last Vegan Tweet: The young,
diverse fruit trees of Mraz Organics. http://instagram.com/p/bHN53Dhpyy/

(on June 28, in reference to Mraz’s  5-acre avocado farm near San Diego)

Best Vegan Quote:
On switching to a plant-based diet: 
“I ride longer distances on my bike, can do more pull-ups than ever, and
my brain seems to have a larger capacity for new projects, problem solving,
songwriting, and fielding random questions. My health and strength make me a
better performer and all that combined gives me more confidence to go out in
the world and shine my light. It also makes me a lot better in bed.”

Fun Fact: Every
time Mraz travels he brings what he calls The Movable Feast- a flight case
stocked with Nutiva brand hemp, protein powder, coconut oil, Barlean’s Omega
Man (contains flaxseed oil, pumpkin seed oil, and lignans), dark raw organic
agave, maca powder and cayenne pepper. And, of course, his Vita-Mix blender.

 

Native Foods Cafe, vegan, vegan food, vegan restaurant, vegan celebrities

Leave a Reply

