Top 5 Vegan Workout Items

By Sammy Caiola

Native Foods Cafe

It’s fall, which means everyone is getting back
into a routine. Over the summer, with all the beach days, barbecues and
afternoon popsicles, it can be easy to get off track from your normal healthy
habits. But never fear- Native Foods is here to get you back into shape!

You already know lots about vegan eating (check
out our fall menu- it’s chock full of healthy and delicious items that you can
pick up and eat in for a weeknight meal), but what’s discussed less frequently
is vegan fitness. Vegans should be able to stay just as fit (if not more so)
than anybody else so long as they’re intaking the adequate amount of protein
and energy to get them through a good workout. For some, this could mean taking
a supplement, making power smoothies, or just eating whole foods. You can get
some great information on how to build and maintain muscle on a vegan diet here.

So, provided you’re adequately fed, do whatever
workouts you want. Personally, I’m a Zumba girl. Zumba is a mix of Latin dance
forms, hip-hop and aerobics and it is the most fun thing in the whole world. I
would do it every single day if I could. It’s taught in group classes
surrounded by dozens of women circling their hips and shouting to the music.
It’s so high energy and motivational. I also enjoy cardio combat classes
(kickboxing) and HIIT (high intensity interval training).

Regardless of what you’re doing to stay fit,
you’ll need some cute, cruelty-free gear to do it in. Here are my top picks for
vegan fitness wear:

 

1. Women’s Bamboo Performance Tank from Noel Vegan Fitness
Star

Fitness1

Native Foods Cafe uses this image courtesy of veganlight.spreadshirt.com

 

Noel makes an entire line of vegan-friendly
workout attire, some that scream “I’m a vegan!” and some, like this one, that
are a bit more subtle. This tank top is 67 percent bamboo, 29 percent cotton
and 4 percent spandex, so it probably feels great! It’s just $30 and can be
purchased here

 

2. Singlet and Shorts from OrganicAthlete

 

Fitness2

Native Foods Cafe uses this image courtesy of
store.organicathlete.org

 

Organic Athlete is a 100% vegan, 100% fit-happy
company that has everything you could possibly need, from cycling gear to
fitness DVD’s. Here’s their classic short and tops combo, which is made of
recycled fabric and can be purchased for $95 here

 

3. Axiom sneaker from Jambu footwear

 

Fitness3

Native Foods Cafe uses this image courtesy of mooshoes.com.

 

 

These vegan-suede women’s running shoes are
light and adorable- perfect to throw in your bag for a walk to lunch or a
post-office workout. The inside is memory foam (soooo comfy) and the outside is
rice husk and natural rubber. Get them here for $80.

 

4. Capilene Mesh Sports Bra from Patagonia

 

Fitness4

Native Foods Cafe uses this image courtesy of rei.com

 

5. Vegan Workout Headband from VeganProteins

 

Fitness5

Native Foods Cafe uses this image courtesy of veganproteins.com

 

And last
but not least, the ultimate vegan workout headband. This is that “loud and
proud” item for those of you who want to show everyone at the gym that vegans
are NOT feeble and energy-deficient. I actually love this kind of headband
because it’s elastic-y enough to keep my hair out of my face and thick enough
to absorb sweat. Even if it does look a little dorky, it’s a fun buy for just
$10 right here.

 

 

vegan restaurants, vegan food, vegan fitness, vegan products


 

 

 


 

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “Top 5 Vegan Workout Items

  1. air compressor November 6, 2013 / 1:15 am

    It’s going to be ending of mine day, but before ending I am reading this impressive post to increase my knowledge.

    Like

  2. bunn coffee makers November 5, 2013 / 11:39 pm

    You could definitely see your expertise in the article yoou write. The arena hopes for even more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. All the time follow your heart.

    Like

  3. http://www.thebestcarpetcleaningmachines.com/ November 5, 2013 / 11:21 pm

    I was wondering if you ever thoughtt of changing the layout of your blog? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content soo people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text forr only having 1 or 2 images. Maybe you could space it out better?

    Like

  4. http://colothins.com/ November 5, 2013 / 6:13 pm

    Thank you, I have just been looking for information approximately this subject for ages and yours is the best I’ve came upon so far. But, what in regards to the bottom line? Are you positive about the source?

    Like

  5. Cardio Before or After Lifting November 5, 2013 / 3:20 pm

    My partner and I stumbled over here coming from a different page and thought I may as well check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to exploring your web page for a second time.

    Like

  6. microwave oven November 5, 2013 / 2:49 pm

    No matter if some one searches forr his necessary thing, thys he/she wants to be available that in detail, therefore that thing is maintained over here.

    Like

  7. Cardio After Lifting November 4, 2013 / 10:49 am

    This article will help the internet users for creating new web site or even a weblog from start to end.

    Like

  8. you could try here November 4, 2013 / 2:52 am

    Aw, this was an exceptionally good post. Spending some time and actual effort to create a good article… but what can I say… I hesitate a whole lot and don’t manage to get nearly anything done.

    Like

  9. Muscle Zx90 November 4, 2013 / 2:41 am

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your blog? My blog site is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my visitors would really benefit from some of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this ok with you. Thanks!

    Like

  10. raw green coffee November 3, 2013 / 2:38 pm

    Hi there to all, how is everything, I think every one is getting more from this website, and your views are good in favor of new viewers.

    Like

  11. incontri.affarisicilia.net November 2, 2013 / 12:48 pm

    Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break. I love the info you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, good blog!

    Like

  12. independent.academia.edu November 2, 2013 / 4:51 am

    Wow, this piece of writing is pleasant, my younger sister is analyzing these things, so I am going to let know her.

    Like

  13. Deer Antler Supplement November 1, 2013 / 4:26 pm

    Today, I went to the beachfront with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is entirely off topic but I had to tell someone!

    Like

  14. Adonis Golden Ratio Review October 27, 2013 / 12:15 pm

    I enjoy what you guys are up too. This kind of clever work and coverage! Keep up the great works guys I’ve added you guys to blogroll.

    Like

  15. Weight Lifting and Cardio October 26, 2013 / 7:36 pm

    Quality articles or reviews is the secret to interest the users to pay a quick visit the web page, that’s what this site is providing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

