This Week We’re Obsessed With… Zumba!

By, Sammy Caiola

Native Foods Cafe

I’ve found the key to happiness: it’s Zumba. Now I know
you’ve probably all heard that it’s a crazy fad designed to embarrass women who
lack Latin dance hips, but I promise you, as a fellow health-positive
veggie-lover, Zumba is the best way to get in touch with your purest, fittest,
most confident self. Just hear me out.

Zumba, created in 2001, is a blend of Latin dance, hip hop
and aerobics taught by a certified instructor to a large group of people
(typically women). The instructor stands at the front of the room or on a
platform and you, the zumba-er, follow his or her moves step by step for 15 or
16 songs (classes last one hour including warm-up and cool-down). The music
pounds, the booties shake, and the energy buzzes as dozens of women get into
their Zumba groove. It is a truly magical experience that you really can’t
understand until you try it. You’ll get so excited about learning the
choreography that you won’t even realize you’re burning 600-800 calories.

It has blown up over the past two years, but that’s because
the more people discover it, the more it grows. Zumba claiims that there are
140,000 Zumba-ers globally. The world record for largest Zumba class is
currently 1,294 at Clemson
University
in South Carolina. Here they are:

Zumba1
Native Foods Café uses this image courtesy of
worldrecordacademy.com

I was never someone who worked out. Really, it had zero
appeal to me. I wouldn’t run, wouldn’t lift. I felt self-conscious at the gym,
positive that I was doing it wrong. And when I could get myself onto a
treadmill, I just couldn’t stay engaged. I just wanted to be doing something
else. Anything else.  But when I first tried a Zumba class with my
mom, it opened up a door. I fell in love with the upbeat Latin music, the
intricate choreography, the supportive environment. There’s no judgment in
Zumba. Everyone’s there to have a good time and get a good workout, and nobody
cares how you look. But the truth is, you’re going to look good. And even if
you don’t you’re not going to care. You’re going to feel good, because
everyone’s going to be whooping and shouting and clapping like it’s one big
Zumba party- and who cares how you look when you’re having that much fun?

Zumba is for all shapes and sizes. If these ladies can do
it, you can too:

Zumba2
Native Foods Café uses this image courtesy of
healthyfootnotes.com.

Since Zumba-ing for the first time, I now do it twice a week
and have plans to get certified as an instructor. I’ve Zumba-ed in three
countries (it’s taught in 185). I’ve Zumba-ed at community fundraisers and in
my own living room. I’ve Zumba-ed with strangers and with my closest friends.
Anytime I’m feeling down or insecure, I just head to a class or pop in the Wii
Zumba disc. So don’t worry about putting on weight this winter. Just eat your
veggies and get yourself to a Zumba class. And when you’re done, feel free to
whip up chef Kendall’s Raspberry
Beret Smoothie
to refuel on energy!

 

11 thoughts on “This Week We’re Obsessed With… Zumba!

  1. 財布 November 13, 2013 / 1:42 am

    。バッグの卸し業者は利用の両方で要求市場とe コマース。それまだ何を具現化するその立っていたヒッピーを受信する。

    Like

  2. 財布 November 12, 2013 / 11:01 pm

    購入販売の整理これ偽造バッグになるまた違法。ジェーン シルトン維持を提供するフェアとよく策定バッグは、女性を大好き購入を決定するデザイナー ハンドバッグ。のコース、これら受信品質を下げるに加え、以下を使用高ドルよりも材料本格的なバッグ。

    Like

  3. バッグ November 12, 2013 / 6:11 pm

    あなたがwon’tいずれかを使用オプションアクセサリーのがすべてのドレスまたはそれがありますどこでも。問題必要がありますどのような機会に、されて非常に慎重選択高級ハンドバッグ。

    Like

  4. 斜め掛けショルダーバッグ November 12, 2013 / 3:43 pm

    。1 つは、バッグ デザイナーは方法はるかに多くよりも耐久性、偽のもの。を保証することができます確立お金の販売重複またはサブパーデザイナー財布。ことができます今誇示スタイリッシュなデザイナー ハンドバッグにいつでも、特別な行事。そう前に自分行く、それ理想的なを見るインターネット内詳細経路に、近く場所。

    Like

  5. http://www.designerhandbagsplaza.com/ November 12, 2013 / 6:01 am

    It’s appropriate time to make a few plans for the longer term and it is time to be happy. I’ve learn this post and if I may I want to counsel yoou few fasdinating issues or suggestions. Maybe you could write subsequent articles regarding this article. I want too read even more things about it!

    Like

  6. http://www.flatscreentvreviewer.com/ November 12, 2013 / 12:54 am

    Excellent website yoou have here but I was wanting to know if you knew of aany user discussion forums that cover thhe same topics talked about in this article? I’d really like to be a part of group where I can get feedback from other experienced people that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Thanks a lot!

    Like

  7. lace dresses November 11, 2013 / 12:04 pm

    Thanks to myy father who informed me regarding this webpage, this web site is in fact amazing.

    Like

  8. bluetooth speakers November 11, 2013 / 10:30 am

    Hello, i think that i saw you visited myy weblog so i came to “return tthe favor”.I’m attempting to find things to enhance my web site!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

    Like

  9. michael kors watches November 11, 2013 / 8:03 am

    Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog thqt automatically tweet my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

    Like

  10. A fascinating discussion is definitely worth comment. I believe that you need to publish more about this issue, it may not be a taboo matter but usually people don’t speak about such topics. To the next! Kind regards!!

    Like

  11. hop over to this web-site November 4, 2013 / 2:22 am

    Greate pieces. Keep posting such kind of information on your site. Im really impressed by your blog. Hi there, You’ve done an incredible job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I’m confident they will be benefited from this site.

    Like

Leave a Reply

