In the Spotlight, Adam Russell, bassist for Story of the Year

By, Kelly Behr

Native Foods Cafe

 

Photo 1.04.40 AM

Adam Russell is a friend of mine, an absolute animal
lover, a vegan and a super fan of Native Foods Café. He was one of the first
vegans I ever knew. We grew up in the Midwest and there are not too many vegans
in our part of town especially 10 years ago. I remember a time long ago when, his now fiancé,
brought him vegan chocolate chip cookies before a show, it was my first taste
of vegan.

He was stoked when I asked him to be our, In The Spotlight
, guest this month. He was even more stoked when I found out Story of the Year
was playing right outside Chicago and told him Native Foods would be coming with
me to the tour bus and then ecstatic when I brought him some gift cards to dine
in the other Native Foods while on tour, he hit the Encinitas and Westwood
locations days later. 

Photo-1 1.04.40 AM

Photo-6
Adam enjoying a feast in Westwood.

Photo-5

On to a Carrot Cake cupcake in Encinitas. 

 

The other members of the band are not vegan and that
didn’t matter in the least bit as they annihilated Scorpion and Chicken Run
Ranch burgers before hitting the stage.
 

 

Photo-2

Adam was then able to give me his true Hollywood
(vegan) Story.

Where
are you from?
 

I
was born and raised in St. Louis, MO.

 

How
did Story of the Year develop?

 

We
all grew up in St. Louis and played together in different bands before we
coalesced into the lineup that would become Story of the Year. In 2002 we
opened the local rock radio festival here in St. Louis, and attracted the
attention of producer and Goldfinger frontman, John Feldmann. He saw potential
in the band, brought us on tour, and eventually took us to Maverick Records. At
10:00 A.M. on a weekday in the fall of that year, we performed for a handful of
record label executives at the famous Viper Room on the Sunset Strip, what
proved to be the most awkward show we had ever played. But everyone in
attendance loved the band, and Maverick made us an offer that day. The rest is
history.

 

What
inspired you to become vegan?

 

I originally
went vegetarian after years of working in food service. Meat just became
disgusting to me. But wasn't until I met John Feldmann (Singer of Goldfinger,
producer, animal rights activist), and an animal rights activist named Sean
Diener (then of PETA) that I learned of the horrific treatment in factory farms
and went fully vegan. 

 

What
is the biggest misconception you run into when people hear the word vegan?

 

Most
people I meet are only vaguely, or often entirely unfamiliar with the word.
Those who have heard it confuse it with everything from pescatarian to
gluten free. Then once I explain it, the response is invariably "what do
you EAT? Just lettuce & stuff?" I go on to explain that I eat the
vegan version of nearly everything that a "normal person" eats. 

 

Do
you find coming from California to living in the Midwest it being a big
challenge being vegan?

 

Well,
I grew up in the Midwest, and at the time I went vegan (Early 2002ish), options
were pretty limited. So when I moved to California a few years later, my whole
dietary world changed. I spent a few years there, and then moved home to St.
Louis at the end of 2011. I was happy to find that things had changed
immensely, and for the better. There still aren't many vegan restaurants (no
Native Foods!), but now grocery shopping is just as easy here as it was in
California. 

 

Is
there a favorite dish you make at home?

 

My
fiancée and I love to make vegan pizza. We make it at least once a
week. More than anything, it's one of those foods that just feels
"normal." Don't get me wrong, I love a ginger curry tofu & quinoa
vegetable bowl just as much as the next tree hugger, but it's nice to also be
able to eat things like pizza and chili dogs.  Our thing lately, though,
has been vegan bacon/cheddar potato skins. And vegan ranch on everything. We've
borrowed (and, dare I say…enhanced) the Native Foods recipe. It's unreal.

 

What
is your favorite thing at Native Foods
?

 

The
Chicken Run Ranch Burger for sure. And the carrot cake for dessert. 

 

When
was your first Native Foods experience?

In
late 2002 John Feldmann took my band and me to the Westwood location in LA. It
was actually the first vegan restaurant I went to in LA. My mind was blown.

 

What
do you do in your free time?
 

 

In
St. Louis we have a place called Grant's Farm, which is sort of a wild animal
park/historic site. My fiancée and I try to visit as often as possible. We
spend a lot of time at the pool (weather permitting) and just hanging
out with our kids–a 7-year-old yorkie and a 1-year-old-yorkie/maltese/chihuahua. We
love anything that has to do with animals. On my own, I listen to a lot of
podcasts and audio books (mostly science related stuff), play XBox, and try to
talk myself into exercising.

Photo-4

Photo-3
 The "kids", Pierre, 7 and Gomez, 1. 

Any
advice for vegan newbies?
Be open to any and every kind of (vegan) food, and learn to
cook. It's fun, it's not hard, and it will honestly change your life.

 

And
lastly, if aliens landed in your backyard what would you serve them?

A
species with technology advanced enough for interstellar travel will most
likely have upgraded their organic bodies to something technological. So
however they simulate the experience of eating food, I'm sure they'll be
enjoying it. But if they insist, I would have to recommend the Chicken Run
Ranch Burger.

 

You
can follow Adam on twitter @adamtheskull or visit www.storyoftheyear.net for more tour dates.

 

 

 

25 thoughts on “In the Spotlight, Adam Russell, bassist for Story of the Year

  1. mocler November 17, 2013 / 5:20 pm

    Its like you read my mind! You appear to undserstand a lot approximately this, such as you wrote the guide in itt or something. I feel that yoou simply could do ith some % to drive the message house a little bit, but instead of that, this is fantastic blog. An excellent read. I’ll definitely be back.

    Like

  2. ralph lauren denim November 17, 2013 / 4:31 pm

    I’m not sure where you’re getting your information, but great topic. I needs to spend some time learning much ore or understanding more. Thanks for great information I was looking for this information for my mission.

    Like

  3. https://www.wellki.com/products November 14, 2013 / 11:08 am

    Hmm is anyone else having problems with the images on this blog loading? I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

    Like

  4. computerdesksgiant.com November 13, 2013 / 2:42 pm

    Hello, Neat post.There’s an issue together with your web site in internet explorer, would test this? IE still is the market chief and a big component to other folks will leave out your excellent writing because of this problem.

    Like

  5. coach bags November 11, 2013 / 10:42 pm

    Have you ever considered publishig an ebokok or guest authoring on other websites? I have a blog based upon on the same topics you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information. I know my viewers would value your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an email.

    Like

  6. Francine November 11, 2013 / 12:00 am

    Post writing is also a fun, if you know afterr that you can write if not itt is difficult to write.

    Like

  7. allreddresses.com November 10, 2013 / 6:30 pm

    Interestinjg blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A theme like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog jump out. Please let me know where you got your theme. With thanks

    Like

  8. Wireless speakers November 10, 2013 / 5:33 pm

    Quality articles or reviews is the key to attrac the visitors to go tto see the website, that’s what this website is providing.

    Like

  9. www.123bunkbeds.com November 10, 2013 / 4:05 pm

    It’s remarkable in support of me to have a website, which is helpful in support of my experience. thanks admin

    Like

  10. externalharddrivereviewed.com November 10, 2013 / 1:07 pm

    Hiya very cool web site!! Guy .. Excellent .. Wonderful .. I will bookmark yourr blog and take the feeds also? I amm satisfied to seeek out so many useful info right here withhin the submit, we want develop extra techniques on this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

    Like

  11. http://www.designerhandbagsplaza.com/ November 10, 2013 / 12:21 pm

    We are a bunch of volunteers and opening a new schyeme in our community. Your web site offered us with valuable info to work on. You have performed a formidablle job and our entire griup shgall be thankful to you.

    Like

  12. maxidressesnow.com November 10, 2013 / 10:55 am

    This is my first time pay a quick visit at here and i amm in fact pleassant to read all at one place.

    Like

  13. breitling November 10, 2013 / 9:08 am

    Thanks for sharing your tthoughts about starlet. Regards

    Like

  14. http://www.allplussizedresses.com/ November 10, 2013 / 7:55 am

    naturally like your website howefer you need to chefk the spelling on quite a few of your posts. Many of them are rife with spelling problems and I find it very troublesome to inform the eality then again I will surely coke again again.

    Like

  15. kitchen islands November 8, 2013 / 7:17 pm

    Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the info you provide here and can’t wait to takee a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, great blog!

    Like

  16. sectional sofas November 8, 2013 / 3:46 pm

    Hurrah! At last I got a wwebpage from where I be able to actually get helpful facts regarding my stdy and knowledge.

    Like

  17. www.allthebunkbeds.com November 8, 2013 / 12:29 pm

    Genuinely hen someone doesn’t understand afterward its up to other visitors that they will assist, so here it occurs.

    Like

  18. coffee tables November 8, 2013 / 12:23 pm

    When someone writes an piece of writing he/she maintains the plan of a user in his/her brain that how a user can be aware of it. Thus that’s why this post is amazing. Thanks!

    Like

  19. bathroom vanities November 8, 2013 / 10:05 am

    Spot on wiuth this write-up, I really believe this site needs a great deal mmore attention. I’ll probably be back again to read through more, thanks for the info!

    Like

  20. daybed November 8, 2013 / 9:11 am

    I simply couldn’t depart your web site prior to suggesting that I extremely enjoyed the usual info an individual supply for your visitors? Is gonna be back regularly in order to investigate cross-check new posts

    Like

  21. www.barstoolsgiant.com November 8, 2013 / 7:04 am

    Hey excellent website! Does running a blog such as this take a lot of work? I have no expertise in computer programming but I had been hoping too start mmy own blog in the near future. Anyways, should you have any suggestions oor techniques for new blog owners please share. I understand this is off subject nevertheless I just wanted to ask. Appreciate it!

    Like

  22. mountain bikes for sale November 7, 2013 / 11:01 pm

    I’m gone to inform my little brother, that he should also visit this blog on regular basis to obtain updated from most up-to-date news update.

    Like

Leave a Reply

