In the Spotlight, Jill Pyle of Vegan Cuts

By, Kelly Behr 

Native Foods Cafe

 

One of the perks of participating in events like Chicago’s Veganmania is getting to know other vendors offering vegan products. This is where I was able to meet Jill Pyle of Vegan Cuts. Vegan Cuts is a box of vegan goodies, either snacks or beauty…or both, that is sent to you monthly. I grabbed the preview box they had at the event and realized they were on to something.

 As vegans, we love to support each other and businesses that are doing their part in spreading the word about compassionate living. There are so many wonderful vegan products out there that you either do not know about or do not have access to. Vegan Cuts gathers the best products from the best vegan companies for you, all you have to do is be patient for that little box to arrive. However, if waiting is not your forte, you can always go to their website where they highlight a plethora of vegan products from food to fashion. 

Snack Box Group Shot

 

Beauty Box Group Shot

Photo-2

Each month the box comes with a card for the beauty and snack boxes describing all the goodies. They have thought of everything!

 

I asked Jill to be our “In the Spotlight” guest for our December newsletter. It was a perfect choice and a perfect way to jump into the gift giving season. 

Jillpic13

 

 

1.) What made you go vegan?

 

Health, environment, animal rights—Pick a reason and it resonates with me. Really, how could I not go vegan? To me, veganism is about living a life of abundance while communicating my values in all aspects of my life. 

 

2.) How did Vegan Cuts get started?

 

I’m always the one in the group who stops in stores of all shapes and sizes to see what vegan products are on the shelves. While I strongly believe in putting my money into vegan companies, I know that I’m just one person so sharing my product finds can help my dollars go even farther. 

 

Back in early 2011, my husband, John, and I decided to act on our desire to support vegan businesses by launching a signup page for people interested in the idea of a website that focused specifically on helping people discover new vegan products. When over 1,000 people signed up in the first week, we realized there was a lot of interest and decided to build the first version of our dream website. We haven’t looked back since. Vegan Cuts has since grown into an online marketplace with a monthly Snack Box and Beauty Box subscription service. The fun never stops!

 

3.) Where do you find all your cool products?

 

Depends on when you ask this question. Since I recently attended the Natural Products Expo East tradeshow in Baltimore, Chicago Veganmania and the Boston Vegetarian Food Festival, I’ve got to say that those events are a prime opportunity for me to discover all sorts of products that haven’t hit the shelves yet—mmmm, Earth Balance Sour Cream and Onion chips. Of course I share the wealth in the Vegan Cuts marketplace, subscription boxes and newsletters.

 

4.) Favorite Native Foods menu item?

 

Sesame Kale Macro Bowl without hesitation. Put tempeh on anything and I’m in. 

 

5.) Holiday season gift recommendation?

 

Ooh, if  money’s not an object then I’d say the perfect gift is a lovely trip to one of my favorite places on earth, New York. Now, I know that it’s a little expensive to splurge on that sort of “gift” so my close runner up is the Vegan Cuts New York for the Holidays Care Pack, which features my favorite products from New York, from artisan crackers to chocolate rosemary nut butter. 

Nycarepack

 

Of course, you could never go wrong with buying a Vegan Cuts Snack Box or Beauty Box— they’re the gift that just keep on giving with a monthly delivery of surprises. Everyone loves surprises and mail, right?!

6.) Biggest surprise as a business owner in the vegan realm?

The number of non-vegans who work for vegan companies! It’s great because I like to think that after a few months of working with plant-fueled colleagues we’ll be welcoming these former omnivores to the veggie club.

 

 

The Vegan Cuts website now has their holiday gift guide up and has something for everyone on your list. Visit them at http://www.vegancuts.com

  Holiday-banner

 

Leave a Reply

