5 Reasons to Vegan This Week

By, Kelly Behr

Native Foods Cafe

 

As a lot of the country is experiencing sub zero temperatures, it makes it difficult to find the motivation to go outside, for anything, including getting food. I, however, made myself venture out to the grocery store this weekend. So, here I have  for you my new finds of the week and some of my old favorites. 

 

1.) Trader Joe's Veggie Chili

This is something I actually had in my house which saved me at least on Saturday from having to bear the cold. This chili is some of the best I have ever had….from a can. The tofu used has a texture so similar to meat that I doubt anyone would suspect it was sans ground beef. Feel free to spice it up by adding some hot sauce or any other spices of your choice. 

Photo

 

2.) Edamame Rice

My friends and I just refer to this as "the rice." We love it that much that we catch ourselves saying, "Oh, I just had the rice again for dinner. The bag says you can microwave the whole bad and cut it open and serve. I prefer to cook it on the stove in a skillet with a little bit of oil, it makes it so much more crispy and delicious. 

 

Photo-3

 

3.) Amy's Tofu Scramble 

Tofu scrambles are very fun to make because of all of the different components you can put in them. So, I was skeptical of buying one in the frozen food aisle. However, this Amy's Scramble exceeded my expectations. I now will keep one in the freezer for when I am in a bind and too tired to actually create something on my own. Thanks for having my back Amy. 

Photo-1

4.) Skinny Pop

If you like a fresh tasting popcorn without all the artificial flavorings, this is for you. With awards season in our midst, grab a bag and be ready to cheer on your favorite films this year. 

Photo-2

 

5.) Earth Balance Sour Cream and Onion Kettle Chips

Much to my own surprise, I blame the weather, I have not tried this yet. I will report back when I track these little gems down. Maybe it is a good thing I haven't found them  as I would probably down a bag without batting an eye. 

EB_SourCreamChipsLG

Native Foods uses this image courtesy of store.veganessentials.com/vegan-sour-cream–onion-flavor-kettle-chips-by-earth-balance-p4198.aspx

 

Leave a Reply

