My Milkshake Brings all the Vegans to the Kitchen

By Kelly Behr

Native Foods Cafe

It might officially be spring….but trying telling that to Chicago. Despite the frigid temps still lingering outside I was craving a milkshake and maybe hoping to jump start summer, at least in my kitchen anyway. 

I looked in my freezer and pantry and decided to make a cookies and cream shake. 

 

Photo3

The best part about creating things like milkshakes is that you can just blend in all your favorite shake ingredients. There are lots of different ice cream varieties out there too including those made with almond and soy milk, but I prefer the coconut milk versions. So Delicious makes a great line of coconut milk based varieties, I used the vanilla bean version. And it truly is so delicious!

I used almond milk as my base and added in some Oreos. Yes, Oreos are indeed vegan. Now, like I always say, just because they are vegan does not mean they are healthy, but they sure are a tasty little treat. 

I added three scoops of the ice cream, 1/2 cup of the almond milk, 4 Oreos and blended away! You can adjust quantities based on how thick you like your shakes, it's all up to you! 

 

Photo1

Pardon the fact that I couldn't wait to drink some before I took a picture. But, voila! A vegan cookies and cream shake!

Leave a Reply

