Are you ready for some football?

By Kelly Behr 

Native Foods Cafe

49ers-header

Native Foods uses this image courtesy of firstwefeast.com

I am a pretty big sports fan. I grew up in St. Louis, MO attending Cardinals games from about the time I was four years old. My father, an avid golfer would drag me to PGA tour events. I went to a division 1 college so I went to  my fill of football and basketball games in those 4 years. I still try and attend any sporting event I get invited to, but the thing that all these events have in common is the lack of vegan options at the stadiums. 

When you go to almost any stadium the food options seem to be the same assortment of nachos and hot dogs and as a vegan you probably find yourself not eating or having another pretzel at the very least. 

Well good news for vegans, it seems some stadiums are taking notice on their lack luster vegan options. It seems the San Franciso 49ers stadium has come to the rescue and  will be the most vegan friendly stadium in America. 

ABC news just recently did a story on this new coming of food age stadium. The article stated that:

 

“We are going to be the most vegan-friendly stadium in the entire sports industry,” Zach Hensely, manager of Centerplate, told the San Francisco Chronicle, which reported that there would be more than 30 vegan options at the stadium, including one at every permanent stand." 

 

I really can't even imagine what it will be like when other stadiums jump on board and offer some plant based options and I can actually eat something! But it looks like the tide could be turning but for now my $9 pretzel will have to do! 

 

 

 

One thought on “Are you ready for some football?

  1. Mark July 18, 2014 / 5:34 pm

    Please open a location in the Bay Area!! Moved from San Diego and miss Native Foods!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

